Hey there, America!

Donald Trump has been elected to be the next President of the United States.

So what now?

A lot of people are angry. Plenty of people are confused. Some cheer while others wave their fists at the air. How could this happen in AMERICA!?!?!

Easy.

People voted for the person they wanted to win. There has been so much going on in the aftermath of the election. I’ve watched as friendships ended, memes have circulated, and many people have sworn to leave the country. It’s been a mess. A hot, but necessary, mess.

You see now that this has happened we have the perfect oppurtunity to sit down and discuss why. You and I may not agree with the results but there is a reason Trump won. Instead of yelling and posting memes have you actually tried to talk to the people who voted for him? Have you talked to the people who are now afraid for their future because he was elected? Have you talked to anyone from the other side? You should try it and don’t just talk to them, LISTEN to them. This country has been a mess for a very long time and now is the time for all of us to help each other put it back together.

Racism. Hate. Oppression. Sexism. Homophobia. Fear. Pain. Police brutality. Segregation.

All of these things are REAL my friends.

These things have always been going on and this election has pushed them even moreso to the forefront. We can’t keep sweeping it under the rug. We all live in our own little bubbles at times and I think we often forget how big this country really is. Everything is here! So many peoples only view of the outside world is what they see on televison and the internet. There are a LOT of small towns guys. A lot of places where hate has continued to grow for generations without interference from the outside world. The only representation they see of anyone different from them is what the media shows. You know who knew this?

Trump did and he talked right to them. Humans are awful, all of us are. We’ve all had a racist thought or feared someone who was a little different. We are a product of our environments. Many of us saw the error of our ways and worked on becoming better people while others didn’t. I know I’ve had my prejudices and I’m glad to say that I continue to work on loving more and fearing less. Some people honestly don’t realize that life is any different for those who don’t look like them.

A few months ago I got a flat tire and was stranded with my friend Drew. My friend Timothy came to help and we realized we had to wait until morning for the tire trouble would be handled. Now the question of how would we contact the person who’s property we were on and let them know my car would be there? We decided to leave a note and then Drew walked up to the house and started looking around for something that would hold the note down. He walked up on the porch to look around and Tim and I just glanced at each other. He finally found a rock and left the note on the window pane.

Drew is a white American male. There was NO way that Timothy and I would walk up to an unknown house to look for anything. Being two black American males snooping around an unknown house probably would’ve caused fairly different results. THAT’S the America I’ve always lived in and there are places I fear to go to because I know people will only see a black man and not another human being. This is my reality but it doesn’t always have to be.

Love. Compassion. Understand. Patience. Acceptance. Togetherness. Empathy.

These are a few things we need right now to move forward. What’s done is done but this is still OUR America. I want to see this same fire during local elections. I want to see this same fire when any person is treated unfairly. Life isn’t fair but as an adult you learn to roll with the punches anyway. People are afraid and they have the right to be. I’m sure I’d still be writing this blog if Hillary won to be honest. I always saw this election as the government vs. entertainment. Entertainment won. We really need to talk about this.

Donald Trump is the next President of the United States. What a time to be alive.

Now get up and do something.

Leave a Reply

